Things I Like Right Now

I love snow. I love watching big flakes drift from the sky. It always makes me incredibly happy (as long as I’m not driving in it. . . ). There’s something about the beauty of it all that makes me believe anything is possible. I love it even more now that I live south of the Mason-Dixon line after spending my childhood walking to school in feet of it up North. So, I understand that my brother shares this giddiness of a rare snow but it’s not nice to rub it in my face that he got 7 inches when the “snow” here just made my yard muddy.

IMG_0968 copy 2And it’s really not nice to do so at 6 am on a day I’m not working. But I still love snow and my still-a-kid-at-heart brother.

Speaking of not working today, I’m really enjoying working only three days of the week. I mean my schedule is downright chaotic at the moment being I’m at the mercy of the system and limited preceptors, but I think I’m really going to like it.

I also am really enjoying the Olympics. I like team sporting events well enough. I like watching people watch football. MLB’s Opening Day always feels like the start of summer. I’d like basketball more if their sneakers weren’t constantly squeaking as they ran up and down the court. And while I like like team sports, I love the Olympics. I like the variety. I like how it’s edited for TV so there’s not a lot of downtime between plays, runs, or participants. I like all the crazy tricks and spins and flips and freakishly fast speeds. I like learning about random sports and countries. I like how I can never figure out the scoring system. I like the patriotism of it all and proudly wear my team USA t-shirt. There’s something great getting so caught up in it all that you’ve stayed up until 2 am and are watching an event you’re not that into like curling. There’s always a story behind every athlete and I love hearing them.

I’ve always been a girl who loves stories. Library days were my favorite and I often spent recess reading. (Yes, I was and still am a bit of a nerd like that.) I also love going to the movies. I love everything about it minus the ticket price. I believe if you’re not there in time to see all the trailers, you’re missing out. Sometimes I get so caught up in watching the previews that I forget what movie I’m about to watch. I’ll even go to the theater all by myself when I need to escape the day-to-day and I can’t get near the water. Going to the movies alone is not sad; it’s wonderful. If you’ve never tried it, I highly recommend it.

So, because I love books and I love movies, I love when books I love are being turned into movies. Here’s two I am a bit giddy about seeing in the nearish future:

One will have me on the edge of my seat and the other will have me reaching for Kleenex. I’ll let you guess which one is which.

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m just telling you about things I like right now. That’s about the only thing connecting these scattered dots in my brain, so I’m just going to continue.

Last Sunday, Jon Tyson, an former youth pastor of mine spoke at my church. There’s something redemptive about seeing three of your youth group pastors together in one place. Anyways, Jon’s a phenomenal speaker and if you’d like to hear a top-notch sermon about hospitality and celebrating life you can listen to it here: http://churchofthecity.com/podcast/2014/2/10/feasting-in-the-kingdom-292014

I particularly liked this quote he shared:

Food is the daily sacrament of unnecessary goodness, ordained for a continual remembrance that the world will always be more delicious than it is useful. ~ The Supper of the Lamb by Robert Capon

Here’s a couple other quotes (not from the sermon) I’m sharing because I like collecting words as I read stories:

“Of course you can’t know. But you play the odds. You save who you can and you mourn those you can’t. When you follow this calling, your heart gets ripped apart every day. You make the world better in increments, not grand designs. You make choices. Do you understand?” ~Shelter by Harlan Coben

“I think you’re the sort of person who finds money on the ground and waves it in the air and asks if anyone has lost it. I think you cry in movies that aren’t even sad because you have a soft heart, though you don’t let it show. I think you do things that scare you, and that makes you braver than those adrenaline junkies who bungee-jump off bridges.” Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Naturally, being a gal that loves words, I love lyrics. If you do too, Sleeping At Last’s Yearbook album is fantastic.

I like Sharpie pens. They are my favorite pens. Can you tell? There’s easily twenty pens in this mug and more in my purse.

IMG_0958I like using these pens to journal far more than using them to take school notes. I really, really like not taking class notes.

I like sleeping past 5 am.

I like the first cup of coffee at Frothy Monkey. I like it even better when it’s sipped with a dear friend talking about all the people and things we hold dear.

I love laughing and teasing and good banter. I like a good pun and quick wit. I especially like it when all of these happen in the course of one night and are spoken out of deep affection rather than spite.

I like my crazy-sweet dogs. Bailey loved licking out the scant remnants of a Jeni’s ice cream container so much that she kept bring it to me. I think this was her way of asking for more. Who can blame her?

IMG_1425

And while I could keep going because I do like rambling, I’m guessing you might like me to wrap up. So enjoy your Thursday. May it be filled with the things you like and people you love.

Leave a Reply

